logo ePAG.png
Global-Genes-Logo.png
Eurordis Web.png
ThinkGenetic-Logo-Transparent-Web.png
Logo_RareConnect-Web.png
Copyright © 2019 FMF & AID Global Association. All rights reserved – CHE-400.064.574

Pyrin associated autoinflammation with neutrophilic dermatosis (PAAND)

PAAND ist eine seltene monogene autoinflammatorische Erkrankung, die klinische Merkmale des familiären Mittelmeerfiebers (FMF) aufweist.

Genetik

Diese entzündliche Erkrankung beruht auf Mutationen im MEFV-Gen (das für Pyrin kodiert), das auch mit FMF assoziiert ist und zu hohen IL-1β-Serumspiegeln während fieberhafter Episoden führt. Bisher waren alle gemeldeten Fälle von PAAND mit einer dominanten p.S242R-Mutation im MEFV-Gen assoziiert.

Im Gegensatz zu FMF handelt es sich um eine vererbte autosomal-dominante Genmutationskrankheit, die im Kindesalter klinisch mit längeren Fieberepisoden (mehrere Wochen) einhergeht. Im Gegensatz zu den Mutationen, die FMF verursachen und häufig Generationen überspringen, ist nur eine einzige Kopie der Mutation erforderlich, um die Krankheit auszulösen. Dies bedeutet, dass die Hälfte der Kinder von Patienten betroffen ist.

 

Symptome

PAAND ist durch sterile Hautabszesse, lange Episoden mit hohem Fieber, Myalgie, Myositis, Müdigkeit und im Gegensatz zu FMF nicht durch Serositis oder Amyloidose gekennzeichnet. Klinische kutane Manifestationen riefen eine größere Ähnlichkeit mit PAPA (pyogene Arthritis, Pyoderma gangrenosum und Akne) mit einem Mangel an pyogener Arthritis hervor. Andere Patienten berichteten auch von makulopapulären und pustulären Hautausschlägen im perioralen Bereich und in den oberen und unteren Extremitäten, entzündlichen Läsionen der Perinealschleimhaut, Bauchschmerzen, Gedeihstörungen, Entwicklungsverzögerungen, episodischen Myalgien und Arthralgien. Erhöhte APRs und Anämie sind normalerweise bei diesen Patienten vorhanden.

Behandlung

Colchicin, eine wirksame Behandlung für FMF, hat vielversprechende Ergebnisse bei der Behandlung von PAAND gezeigt. Die auf IL-1β ausgerichtete Therapie war auch bei anderen Patienten erfolgreich und löste die Pyrin-assoziierte Autoinflammation mit neutrophiler Dermatose.

 

Quellenangaben:

Moghaddas F, Llamas R, De Nardo D, et al. A novel Pyrin-Associated Autoinflammation with Neutrophilic Dermatosis mutation further defines 14-3-3 binding of pyrin and distinction to Familial Mediterranean Fever. Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases 2017; 76: 2085-2094.

http://dx.doi.org/10.1136/annrheumdis-2017-211473

Shahrokh, Shabman et al. “410 Pyrin-associated auto-inflammation with neutrophilic dermatosis (PAAND): Novel autosomal recessive MEFV mutation and successful treatment with colchicine.” Journal of Investigative Dermatology May 2019; Volume 139, Issue 5, Supplement, Page S71.

https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jid.2019.03.486

Seth L. Masters et al. Familial autoinflammation with neutrophilic dermatosis reveals a regulatory mechanism of pyrin activation. Science Translational Medicine 30 Mar 2016: Vol. 8, Issue 332, pp. 332ra45

http://dx.doi.org/10.1126/scitranslmed.aaf1471

Pyrin associated autoinflammation with neutrophilic dermatosis (PAAND)

PAAND is a rare monogenic autoinflammatory disease that shares clinical features with Familial Mediterranean Fever (FMF).

Genetics

 

This form of an inflammatory disease is due to mutations in the MEFV gene (that codes for pyrin) which is also associated FMF, leading to high serum IL-1β levels during febrile episodes. So far, all reported cases of PAAND have been associated with a dominant p.S242R mutation in the MEFV gene.

Unlike FMF, it is an inherited autosomal-dominant gene mutation disease and clinically presents during childhood with longer fever episodes (several weeks). Only a single copy of the mutation is needed to cause disease, meaning it affects half the children of patients, unlike the mutations that cause FMF, which often skip generations.

Symptoms

PAAND is characterized by sterile skin abscesses, long episodes of high fever, myalgia, myositis, fatigue and unlike FMF it is not characterized by serositis or amyloidosis. Clinical cutaneous manifestations evoked a closer resemblance to PAPA (pyogenic arthritis, pyoderma gangrenosum, and acne), with a lack of pyogenic arthritis. Other patients have also reported maculo-papular and pustular skin rash on the perioral region and upper and lower extremities, perineal mucosal inflammatory lesions, abdominal pain, failure to thrive, developmental delay, episodic myalgias and arthralgias. Elevated APRs and anemia are normally present among these patients.

Treatment

Colchicine, an effective treatment for FMF, has showed promising results in the treatment of PAAND. Therapy targeting IL-1β has also been successful in other patients, resolving pyrin-associated autoinflammation with neutrophilic dermatosis.

 

Sources:

Moghaddas F, Llamas R, De Nardo D, et al. A novel Pyrin-Associated Autoinflammation with Neutrophilic Dermatosis mutation further defines 14-3-3 binding of pyrin and distinction to Familial Mediterranean Fever. Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases 2017; 76: 2085-2094.

http://dx.doi.org/10.1136/annrheumdis-2017-211473

Shahrokh, Shabman et al. “410 Pyrin-associated auto-inflammation with neutrophilic dermatosis (PAAND): Novel autosomal recessive MEFV mutation and successful treatment with colchicine.” Journal of Investigative Dermatology May 2019; Volume 139, Issue 5, Supplement, Page S71.

https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jid.2019.03.486

Seth L. Masters et al. Familial autoinflammation with neutrophilic dermatosis reveals a regulatory mechanism of pyrin activation. Science Translational Medicine 30 Mar 2016: Vol. 8, Issue 332, pp. 332ra45

http://dx.doi.org/10.1126/scitranslmed.aaf1471

logo ePAG.png
Global-Genes-Logo.png
Eurordis Web.png
ThinkGenetic-Logo-Transparent-Web.png
Logo_RareConnect-Web.png
Copyright © 2020 FMF & AID Global Association. All rights reserved – CHE-400.064.574